SIA Logo (New) (1).png

Student Initiative on Asia (SIA)

The Student Initiative on Asia is a regional initiative which strives to increase awareness about socio-political and cultural issues surrounding Asia. 

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Board

President: Apoorva Sekhar

apoorva.sekhar@graduateinstitute.ch

 

Vice-President: Manoswini Sarkar     

manoswini.sarkar@graduateinstitute.ch

 

Treasurer: Arveen Kaur Sodhi

arveen.sodhi@graduateinstitute.ch

 

Outreach and External Partnership Head: Devika Vohra

devika.vohra@graduateinstitute.ch

 

Events Coordinator: Lucile Monique Jacqueline Mougeat

lucile.mougeat@graduateinstitute.ch

 

Communications Director: Vaibhavi Sharma Pathak

vaibhavi.sharma@graduateinstitute.ch

 

Student Advocacy Team: Yuli Chen

yuli.chen@graduateinstitute.ch

 

Student Advocacy Team: Nivedita Joon

nivedita.joon@graduateinstitute.ch

Student Advocacy Team: Monideepa Mukherjee

monideepa.mukherjee@graduateinstitute.ch

 

Creative Head: Mallika Goel

mallika.goel@graduateinstitute.ch

Our Mission

The Student Initiative on Asia is a regional initiative which strives to increase awareness about socio-political and cultural issues surrounding Asia. Our work over the years has touched areas such as (but not limited to) panel discussions on a variety of issues, anti-racism campaigns, protests and awareness campaigns, cultural events, cooking shows, potlucks, literature review and discussion sessions where students get the opportunity to discuss intricate issues addressed in Asian scholarship, the celebration of Holi, Diwali, Eid and the observance of Ramadan, and finally, the much renowned ‘Diplomacy Series’- a popular interactional series wherein we offer a platform for young students to interact with diplomats of Asian countries. While SIA is geared towards broadening a regional perspective on issues and activities, we work in active collaboration with GISA and the other regional initiatives at the Graduate Institute.

Contact

Get involved!